Posted by: Mark | August 3, 2011

Where Are You Going to Find Your Bliss?

“Follow your bliss” was one of the catch phrases of past decades.  I don’t hear it repeated much these days.  Have people lost their verve AND their nerve in this day and age.  Has following the safe and beaten track become the norm?  If you follow the beaten path, what are you going to find?  Footprints, discarded food wrappers and other detritus, dreams that were left behind – unfinished, unrealized, and, in many instances, unopened.

No one ever made a great journey by sitting anchored in the safety of the harbor.  Don’t wake up one day and say “If only I had…”  If you’re going to regret something, regret what you did, not what you didn’t do but always wanted to do.

How does this relate to brain injury or to some other disability that is challenging you?

It is everything, in my opinion.  I’ve been finding a lot of agreement – in the literature – psychological and physiological, from some of the doctors with whom I’ve spoken, and, most importantly, from other patients – people just like you and me, who have chosen to celebrate their victories, big and small, and bask in the bliss that is there for them.

After my crash, my left side was paralyzed.  Regaining enough control so that I could tie my own shoe laces was as big a cause for celebration as was completing my first post-crash century (100 mile) ride.

In life and in brain injury recovery, going for the things that challenge you, that bring you happiness in their achievement, fosters further achievement.

Don’t sell yourself short!  Follow your bliss and when you find it, let it guide you on to the next step.


Responses

  1. Life after brain injury is all about celebrating the little victories. I remember how grateful I was when my arms started to swing naturally when I walked. Up until that point, they just hung limply by my sides.

    I could not jump rope…or do jumping jacks or clap or dribble a basket ball or bounce a tennis ball. I practiced these things and more doing them daily as my own therapy. It was a happy day, and I celebrated each time I mastered one! Imagine, a grown woman being thrilled to be able to jump rope! 🙂

  2. Know what? – we sure get a lot of things to celebrate, don’t we?! ;^)

    C’mon over & play jacks some time! (That actually was part of my PT)


Leave a comment

Categories