Posted by: Mark | June 30, 2011

I can see again! I’m back! I’m doing it! BikeMS: Waves to Wine tour

Dear Family, Friends, Supporters All,Link to my Bikems: Waves to Wine personal page  >> http://ht.ly/48hd6 <<  Link to my Bikems: Waves to Wine personal page 
\
Multiple Sclerosis was just one of the many diseases I heard about in pathology class. It was far removed until my brother was diagnosed with it.  It’s not something that’s easy to take in anyone, but my own brother?! I began fundraising for the National MS Society, educated myself as much as I could and began participating in the MS bike tour.Several years down the line, I began to notice symptoms in myself. Being aware of the disease and the increased incidence in siblings, I took myself to the doctor and, after many examinations, heard the words, “I’m sorry. You have MS.” Shocked, dismayed and numb, I moved forward.   It was the only thing to do.  Finding a cure for this disease had just taken on a new level of importance, of urgency.

No one should have to hear those five words… NEVER!! Not a parent, not a sibling, not a child, not a friend or relative… NOBODY!!

Since my diagnosis I’ve worked hard to maintain myself the best that I can. One thing has been constant for me – the support I’ve received through the National MS Society. Whether it has been the people, the programs, the research (we’re definitely moving forward in this area) – I always know that someone is out there.

I’m still able to ride. That means I can ride in support of those who can’t. Those whose lives have been affected even more than mine.  I’m asking you to join with me in supporting the National MS Society, in supporting those who are living with MS, in making sure that no one else has to hear those five words: “I’m sorry. You have MS.”

The time is for action is now! The time to fight MS is now! The time to win, to find a cure, is NOW!!

Thank you for your support.  It means so much to so many!

Mark

Registration and Donation information:

Join me on this journey.  I’ll put in the miles.  I’ll pedal the bike.  Having you in my corner supporting me and the National MS Society  will make the hills seem smaller and the task much less daunting.

You can find my Waves to Wine personal [age at: http://ht.ly/48hd6  From there you can register for the ride and join my team if you’d like or you can make a donation to fight MS.  Either way (or both), I’d love to have you join in.


Leave a comment

Categories