Posted by: Mark | June 12, 2011

Empathy, excitement, and Envy

Gabrielle Giffords is about to be released from the hospital following her horrific traumatic brain injury. Her story caught the attention of the nation and definitely, the attention of those of us living with varying stages and severity of brain injury. In general, everyone with whom I’ve been in contact is very excited and happy for her. Her success in recovery is a shared success for all of us. To have been shot in the head, had part of her skull removed and to have lived through this ordeal gives us hope that our recovery can have a happy ending.

Two things I must say before going on:

1. I know that this isn’t a story book ending.  The path to recovery from brain injury is a long and arduous one. This is merely a way station, a whistle stop / photo-op on a much longer journey.

2. The hard work is just beginning. I can see the heads of readers who are living with brain injury nodding in agreement.

With that said, I want to offer my congratulations and well-wishes. Representative Giffords, your on-going recovery success is deeply felt by the brain injury community. We share in the joy just as we shared in the grief of this horrific incident. Joy shared is joy multiplied. Grief and sadness shared are grief and sadness diminished.

It is exciting to see the progress that has been made.  It is heart-warming to see the outpouring of concern, of good wishes, of care.  The health care Giffords received was top notch.  The number of prayers sent her way was over the top (Yes, I believe this aided in her recovery.)

This brings us to the last part of the title. How envious are my fellow TBI’ers?

Are people wishing that they had the same access to health care? Do they wish that there was the same outpouring of concern for their recovery and well-being?  Would they want a stylist fussing over them so they would look good in their photos as they were released from care (would they want even one person caring about how they presented to the world?)

The answer in almost all instances is a resounding and unequivocal YES.

I have been blessed with a wonderful family helping me as they can, helping to manage my affairs, etc.  I have friends and colleagues that are there for me and, most of all, I feel safe in this fun-house mirror world of brain injury.

The fact that all TBI’ers don’t have adequate (adequate begs the issue – a better choice of words is exemplary) care and caring is WRONG.  As a society, we worship celebrities and often put more value on things than people.

The time has come for a change.

No man is an island. No man stands alone….  Do not ask for whom the bell tolls.  It tolls for thee.

~ Meditations – John Donne


Responses

  1. My sentiments exactly. While I am thrilled at Gifford’s progress and the awareness she is bringing to the brain injury issue, I am a little bit envious and angry. The type of rehabilitation is available to a very few, the general public is getting a very skewed view of recovery from brain injury or life with a brain issue.

    That is NOT what it is like for most of us wading our way through a sea of confusing treatments …trying to figure out what 1) might help (most of us have to figure this out on our own – WITH a brain injury???) 2) where it is available (progressive therapies are not widely available at all) and 3) then how in the hell to to afford it. (Insurance pays for very little.)

    I am happy for Giffords, but her experience IS BY NO MEANS THE NORM.

  2. Touch a nerve there, did I, Debbie?

    Seriously, all that you’re saying is true. I can’t even compare my experience to others. I’ve been one of the fortunate ones (not that sustaining a brain injury is fortunate.) We who have been fortunate and / or have worked our butts off in our recovery process, must step up and advocate for others who may not be able to do so for whatever reason.

    I choose to look at it in this way, instructed by Hillel:

    If I’m not for myself, who will be for me?
    If I am not for others, what am I?
    And if not now, when?

    Indeed, healthcare community, administrators, doctors, et all,
    If not now when?


Leave a comment

Categories